New Year’s Resolutions

After a year of doing very little writing but being a mom to a brand new baby girl, I’m about to get back into my writing groove.  My most awesome and perfect brother gave me the world’s best Christmas present.  (Well, okay, best Christmas present for me, at least.)  I shall be taking my $350 gift card to Best Buy and use it to purchase a brand new laptop.  Thus, my laptop crises will come to a most happy ending.  My current laptop will end up in the capable hands of my husband who has spent countless hours working on this blasted thing.  It will become a gaming laptop and will therefore no longer be trusted to hold pertinent information of any kind.

This thing ate about 6,000 words back in November, but I can only blame myself for not backing it up.  I’m taking it as a sign to go back and work on my “shelved” project: Awakening Bloodlines.  As I haven’t even glanced at it in quite some time, I’m a little apprehensive about picking it up again.  I’ll have to read what’s there and then decide if I should leave it and keep writing or edit what I already know needs fixing.  Tough one.  I already know that pretty much the entire first chapter needs to be sliced off, but at the same time, I’m trying to get past this obsessive-compulsive need to edit my work as I go.  I’m up for suggestions, advice and/or recommendations here.  I’m really not looking forward to the task of rereading it, but rather the writing that will pick up after.

So, other resolutions…  I resolve to blog at least once a week, read some of those books about novel-writing on my shelf, and find what works for me in terms of writing time that won’t make me pull my hair out.  Oh, and I’ll continue with my Weight Watchers diet.  Rough stuff being on a diet during the holidays, but it was nice to have already made progress before the new year.

And now to print up my current draft of Awakening Bloodlines.  Pay no attention to the moaning and whining.

~ by Kat on December 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
