Technology Bites…or Bytes?

Somewhere between Illinois and the great state of Texas, my laptop’s new motherboard resides in that chaotic state of being “in transit”.  I know I’ve been quiet for ages, but trying to accomplish anything noteworthy on my dinosaur of a desktop is a lesson in frustration.  It’s slower than molasses and even though I’m one to attempt murder on a keyboard, even with how hard I type, sometimes it doesn’t register a pressed key.  And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.  I could go on at length to explain how not being able to zone out to Pandora while utilizing WriteWay isn’t even possible, but I’ll spare myself the agony of those details.  Thinking of it even now makes my eyes well up just a bit.

Once the new motherboard arrives and is lovingly installed, likely amidst a strain of inappropriate expletives, I will be all set to tear up this year’s NaNoWriMo.  I currently have in the works a brand new idea as well as the foreign concept of a rough outline.  Never outlined a manuscript before, so it feels awkward, but at the same time, it feels very organized.  I feel the days of writing as a “pantster” are close to an end.  We’ll see what comes of it.  I have this feeling it’ll either be a complete disaster or lead to me finally reaching that goal of “The End.”

In other writing technology news, the lovely makers of Scrivener have announced a Windows version.  Le gasp! And they’re even doing it in conjunction with NaNoWriMo, so that successful completion comes with a coupon for 50% off the product.  How sweet is that? And just in time for NaNoWriMo will be a beta release around October 25th or so.  If you’re not familiar with Scrivener, it’s quite possibly one of the best software programs on the market for novelists.  Up until now, it’s only ever been available for Mac users.  This is why you see many of the best-selling writers using Macs. I’d be willing to bet they’ve got Scrivener.  Just one of those little things I’ve learned through my personal writing experience.

Feels like this is just that month where things will turn around for me in the writing sense.  With any luck, my next blog will be done from my laptop!

~ by Kat on October 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
